### SPECIAL EVENTS/TROPHIES

### The following special trophies have been awarded at Oceania Regional Championships:

#### THE CLEM GREEN 1500m

At the Oceania Championships in Auckland in 1990, the OAVA Council resolved that the 1500m group of events at Oceania Championships would be known as The Clem Green 1500s in appreciation of Clem's efforts in founding the Oceania Veterans/Masters Athletics Association.

The trophy is awarded for the highest age-graded performance in 1500m events at each Championship. It is engraved with the name of each winner and now kept in the possession of the OMA Secretary who is required to bring it to OMA Championships to have on display. A certificate is issued to the winner.

The trophy ("Tu Manu To") symbolises the intersocial co-operation of veteran athletes of the various ethnic groups in the Oceania region.

#### Winners:

1990	Peggy Fletcher	NZL	W 60	96.0%
1992	Margaret Orman	NZL	W 50	93.0%
1994	Alan Bradford	AUS	M 5 5	95.0%
1996	John Eccles	NZL	M70	84.5%
1998	Ron Robertson	NZL	M55	94.2%
2000	Dennis Litt	NZL	M45	90.0%
2002	Bert Carse	AUS	M6 0	91.13%
2004	Loris Reed	NZL	W55	91.58%
2006	Trevor Ogilvie	NZL	M55	88.03%
2008	lan Calder	NZL	M50	93.69%
2010	lan Calder	NZL	M50	90.84%
2012	Lavinia Petrie	AUS	W 6 5	99 . 9 %
2014	Lavinia Petrie	AUS	W70	102.02%
2015	Eri c DeLatour	NZL	M95	88.1 6 %
2018	Louisa Abram	AUS	W55	94.57%

#### THE INTER-ISLAND CHALLENGE SHIELD

This shield is awarded to the best island affiliate or associate (excluding New Zealand and Australia), scored on the basis of 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 points for overall placings over all events. With the winner decided on total points divided by the number of athletes, provided there are a minimum of 3 athletes representing the affiliate or associate. The objective is not simply to foster friendly inter-island competition, and but also to encourage greater participation from the islands.

# Past Winners of the OMA Inter-Island Challenge Shield

2006	Cook Islands
2008	Cook Islands
2010	French Polynesia
2012	New Caledonia

## THE AILSA FORBES MEMORIAL (DISCONTINUED)

This award was instituted at the 1992 Championships on Norfolk Island, following a decision taken by Council at a Brisbane meeting in October 1991. It was discontinued in 2004 due to the unknown whereabouts of the trophy.

It was established in recognition of the achievements of the Ailsa Forbes in Veteran athletics. Ailsa commenced veteran athletic activity in her 70's and was a keen and successful competitor in a range of track, walk, and field events until she was tragically killed when training in her mid-80s.

The award was for the best age-graded performance by women aged 55 and over in the 3000m Track Walk in the Oceania Championships. Where a 3000mWalk is not held, the award is made for the 5000mWalk.

## Winners:

1992	Marjorie Colthup	A US	W 65	79 . 59 %
1994	Tina Leb	AUS	W 60	80 . 52 %
1996	Loloma Foster	NZL	W 55	77.85%
1998	Jean Albury	AUS	W 65 8	35.20%
2000	DoreenTorbitt	NZL	W 70	77.93%